Creating My New Year 2 Portfolio!..

Yazy is back!

Initially in reflection to looking at my portfolio from year 1, I wasn’t to impressed and therefore wanted to start from scratch. Last year, I was proud of my portfolio however, I was exploring a new software called ‘InDesign’, which set back my potential skills to making it look more professional. I was just getting into learning more skills about designing on this new software, in which it could have probably taken me half the time to do the same thing on PowerPoint. Considering that dilemma that I had last year, I decided to keep my software document familiar to myself and therefore could try and do some more flexibility in terms of professionalism.

My main aim to set myself for this portfolio was to make the content to make the content to a higher standard, it’ll influence more of my personality and be professional. To begin with I had taken some key aspects from my previous portfolio, such as colour theme being pink.

Before I started working directing onto PowerPoint trying to map out my project arrangements for my portfolio, by hand, I started brainstorming on sticky notes want details I would want to include. Such as, sketch pages, render, research, and designs that I would like to feature and only the best. To do this, I looked back through all my booklets from each project and picked out important content. This also gave me a good understanding on any project that I may have needed to develop on such as my 24 hour briefs (Safran & ds smith) because I had very little content for them projects as they was done in a group and all did small individual tasks within to complete. Visualizing my portfolio layout and content out on post-it notes meant that I could break it up between sections and work on one project at a time.

My initial thinking of layering out my portfolio was linking a creative aspect with professionalism. Drawing up layout and concepts of art and drawing them out on an app called “Sketchbook”, helped my physically draw it out. What made sense to me at the time, was to draw out the background, including all the photos on “Sketchbook”, and then copying them over to PowerPoint and layer on the text.

Exploring many drawing features on “Sketchbook”, help me come up with a purple/ pink and grey and black layered pattern on front cover.

After originally liking this design, because in comparison to my previous front cover it was more creative and professional. However, after getting feedback in my tutorial and of friends, it did not match my personality. I felt like it was to dark for what kind of person I am and made me re-elevate my whole lay out as standing out too much and talking the attention away from my work.

The idea of pink/purple triangle at opposite corners to each other, came around the illusion of it looking like a professional scrapbook, showing my art and design personality. Giving the illusion that they are corner of pages; however, they were too bold aesthetic, taken the attention away from my work. Also, it did not show professionalism.

Love Yazy xox

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started